The Bethlehem NAACP was founded in 1945 with Theodore Dennis as president. At this time meetings were held at the now defunct Colored Voters Association located in South Bethlehem on Brodhead Ave. (across from the Comfort Suites).

The Bethlehem Unit #2250, pursued inequalities with the same enthusiasm and concern as the National office.

For 65 years the Bethlehem Unit has survived the storms of injustice and has found great dignity and renewla of spirit in the constant fight for racial equality.

Today, Esther M. Lee, a civil rights activist and unit president, continues to fight with a main focus on education indifference and concern for today’s youth.

Past Presidents:
Theodore Dennis
Booker Francis
Rev. R. Wakefield Roberts
Sampson Taylor
Pedro Boone, Esquire
Willard Howard, Sr.
Harold B. Pinckney
Ray Dickerson
Edward Williams
Dr. Wandalyn J. Enix
Lillie Brown
Fred Middleton